Spend Elevated

Pay less. Live bigger.

Finding clearance

The deals on this site come out of weekly ads. The other kind — an unadvertised markdown one manager made on one pallet — is in no feed anywhere, so no website can hand it to you. This page is about finding those yourself, and it starts with some bad news about the advice you have probably read.

We checked every “secret clearance code”. Two of them are real.

Only 2 are confirmed by the retailer itself — Costco’s asterisk and T.J.Maxx’s red and yellow stickers. Neither is a cents-digit rule, and not a single cents-digit rule anywhere is confirmed by anyone. 4 are actively denied or misattributed, including the most republished trick in the genre. The other 5 circulate widely with nothing behind them.

It is worth knowing where this all came from. Most of the genre traces to one blogger’s crowd-sourced list, syndicated by national outlets until it became what everybody knows. When a TV station put that list to the retailers in 2014, Target denied it, Sears and Sam’s Club declined to comment, and Kohl’s never replied.

Folklore is not the same as false — some of it is probably right, and the people working the sales floor would know. But you deserve to be told which is which before you plan a trip around it, and no one else in this space does that.

Every code we checked, and what we found

Open a verdict to read the claim as it circulates, what we found, and the source behind it.

Retailer-confirmedThe retailer says so itself2
Retailer-confirmed

Costco

“An asterisk in the corner of the price sign means the item is not coming back.”

The only decoder in this entire genre that the retailer states itself. Costco publishes it on its own membership-tips page. Note their hedge — "typically" — and note that "death star" is a shopper coinage, not Costco's word.

The asterisk typically means the item is not going to be replenished once it is sold through. It's a good sign to buy now – it may not be there later.

Source · checked 2026-09-29

Retailer-confirmed

T.J.Maxx, Marshalls and HomeGoods

“The sticker color tells you the markdown stage — red is clearance, yellow is the last one.”

The one piece of tag folklore a company has actually confirmed on the record. A T.J.Maxx representative told Nexstar in February 2023 that red indicates clearance pricing and yellow indicates final clearance, and that yellow-tag items will not be discounted further. Worth understanding the mechanism, because nearly every retelling garbles it: there is a colored BASE tag — white for the original price, blue for coordinates, purple for The Runway — with a red or yellow markdown sticker laid over it. It is two layers, not five parallel colors.

Items with yellow tags will not be discounted any further, according to T.J.Maxx.
DebunkedActively denied, or attributed to a retailer that never said it4
Debunked

T.J.Maxx

“A price ending in .00 is the final markdown.”

This is a Costco rule wearing a T.J.Maxx label. One article repeating it even lists the endings and attributes them to Costco in the same breath. T.J.Maxx has no documented price-ending code at all, and its own pricing page explains only what "compare at" means. A related claim that .99 means the vendor still owns the item is Home Depot folklore, borrowed the same way.

Debunked

Target

“A clearance price ending in .04 or .08 tells you how many markdowns are left.”

Target denies this on the record, by name, in two separate outlets. It is the most republished trick in the genre and the retailer says it does not work. Worth knowing even the folklore is usually quoted backwards: the circulating rule is .08 means another cut is coming and .04 is final, not the other way round.

It is not possible to determine the final markdown or timing of the price change from the item's current price.

Source · checked 2026-09-29

Debunked

Target

“Each department is marked down on a set weekday — electronics Monday, women's Tuesday, and so on.”

Also denied by Target. The chart traces back to a 2014 local news piece citing a deals blog citing an unnamed source, and the versions in circulation contradict each other, which is usually the tell. Even the blog that started it adds that results vary by location.

It isn't accurate that mark down dates for specific products or categories occur on specific days of the week.

Source · checked 2026-09-29

Debunked

Walmart

“Prices ending in .01, .97 or .00 mark the clearance stages.”

A major couponing outlet calls these myths outright, noting that .97 appears on ordinary regular prices too and that a price ending in 1 is not necessarily the lowest it will go. Other deal sites still publish the opposite. When the sources disagree this sharply, there is no rule.

FolkloreWidely repeated with nothing behind it — which is not the same as false5
Folklore

Costco

“Prices ending .97 are manager markdowns, .00 is a manager special, .88 and .49 mean something else again.”

Partly contradicted from inside Costco. A self-identified Costco buyer says the manufacturer-promotion part is simply wrong and frames the rest as regional habit rather than code. The whole genre traces to one 2013 blog post. A widely repeated claim that Costco "fact-checked" the code rests on a 2013 TV segment that is no longer reachable, so it is not repeated here.

It's not really a code, more just a set of rules that we follow to track pricing and be consistent throughout the region.
Folklore

Home Depot

“Prices step .06 then .03, and .03 is the final markdown. Yellow tag means clearance.”

No Home Depot statement exists. The ladder traces to a single TikTok creator, repeated by a magazine and then by everyone else. The .02 step that also circulates could not be corroborated by anything at all, so it is not stated here.

Folklore

Lowe's

“An "N" under the barcode means discontinued; a price ending .02 means it is about to be destroyed.”

Thinnest sourcing of any claim here — one deals blog quoting one unnamed employee. Also worth correcting: the .00/.03/.06 ladder usually attributed to Lowe's is Home Depot's, and "ends in 1 is final" is a Sam's Club claim. Aggregators mix all three up.

Folklore

Sam's Club

“A price ending in 1 means clearance. Or .98, .81, .91 and .00. Or 91 is the final markdown.”

Three sources, three mutually incompatible systems, no retailer statement. The letter codes under the price — A active, N never-out, C cancelled, S seasonal, O one-time buy — are the most consistently reported part. A separate claim that a flipped or upside-down sign means last one could not be sourced anywhere, so it is not stated here.

Folklore

Walmart

“A price of $0.01 means the item is free money.”

The mechanism — a penny price is an internal do-not-sell flag telling staff to pull the item — is consistent across shopper communities and mechanically plausible, but no Walmart source states it. The nearest on-record testimony is a Sam's Club employee telling a news outlet that a one-cent price means the item is discontinued. Either way it is not a deal: see the warnings below.

The paper-sticker era is ending, and that matters more than any codeWhat changed on the shelf labels, and why it is not a disaster

Walmart is rolling out electronic shelf labels — roughly 2,300 US stores already, and chain-wide within a year on its own timetable. Every yellow-sticker and cents-digit tell depends on a printed paper tag. As screens replace them the tell disappears, regardless of whether it ever worked. Any clearance guide written before this is describing a shrinking world.

Walmart also states plainly that this is not dynamic pricing: "prices are the same for all customers in any given store and are consistent regardless of demand, time of day or who is shopping."

What actually works insteadThe routes that are real, with somewhere to go3

Flashfood

Surplus groceries at a marked-down price, listed in an app before you drive there.

This is the honest answer to "can I check clearance before I go?" — yes, for food, through the grocer's own partnership. US partners listed on Flashfood's own homepage include Kroger, Meijer, Gelson's, Family Fare, Piggly Wiggly, Martin's, VG's, Tops and Giant Eagle.

Fresh produce, meat, and more at up to 50% off.

Go there

Too Good To Go

Surprise bags of end-of-day food at a fixed price, reserved in advance.

Its largest US grocery partner is Whole Foods, at around 530 stores after a November 2025 expansion into seven more categories — produce bags around $6.99 for a stated $21 of value, meat and seafood around $9.99 for $30. There is no evidence Kroger or Albertsons is on it, so do not assume.

Go there

Ask the department, and learn your own store

Unglamorous, and the only advice every source actually agrees on.

Three reputable outlets give three incompatible "best time" answers for grocery markdowns — early morning, early afternoon, and a few hours before closing — and a fourth says one store marks meat down at 5pm because that is when the meat manager leaves. That spread is the finding. No chain publishes a restock or markdown schedule, so the question is answered per store, by asking someone who works there. Aldi is the live example: as of March 2026 it moved perishable markdowns from a company-wide standard to store-by-store discretion, with some stores stopping altogether.

Go there

Clearance pages worth bookmarkingEvery one opened and confirmed to work5

Every one of these was opened and confirmed to work. Two of them fix a link that is widely shared in its outdated form.

What gets people in troubleThe ways this goes wrong for shoppers and for staff3

Decoding a coupon barcode onto another product is fraud, not a loophole

Reading a barcode is not a crime — the coupon barcode standard is a published industry specification, not a secret. Using what you read to apply a coupon to a product it was not issued for is what the industry defines as fraud, and the trade body says so in those words. "It scanned, so it's fine" is not a defence: retailers are instructed to accept only coupons that scan accurately and to refuse anything that looks altered.

Using a coupon for any product other than the one intended is a type of fraud similar to shoplifting.Coupon Information Corporation

Why stores react the way they do — somebody eats the loss, and it is the store

This is the mechanical part nobody explains. Manufacturer redemption policies refuse to reimburse a retailer for anything not named on the coupon. So a decoded coupon does not cost the manufacturer anything — the store absorbs it. That is also why "no stacking" is the manufacturer default rather than an unusual restriction: a typical policy allows one coupon per product purchased, full stop. Photocopying a coupon is counterfeiting, and there is no legitimate way to buy or sell coupons.

Pharmavite will not reimburse retailers for items not specifically identified on the coupon itself.A manufacturer's published redemption policy

You cannot price-match a run deal — every major policy excludes clearance

This is the correction most likely to save a wasted trip. Target stopped matching competitors entirely on 28 July 2025 and now matches only itself within 14 days, so any guide telling you it matches Amazon or Walmart is out of date. Walmart's own current policy says it does not match competitors' online or in-store prices at all, and excludes clearance from the matching it does do. Best Buy matches qualified competitors but explicitly excludes clearance, refurbished and open-box. The pattern is universal and almost no listicle mentions it: the run deal and the price match are mutually exclusive tools.

Sorry, we do not match: Competitor's online or in-store pricesWalmart's Price Match Policy
We only use data a retailer publishes for this purposeWhich stock-checking tools are real, and what we will not do with them5

Several tools in this space are quietly built on internal endpoints that answer without a key and were never opened to anyone. We do not use those. Where a retailer's terms say no, this site takes no for an answer and tells you so instead — which is why some chains below have a rating and no data. The practical upshot for you is that nothing here can vanish overnight because a retailer noticed.

For anyone wondering whether that is over-cautious: the Supreme Court's 2021 Van Buren decision narrowed the federal computer-crime statute, but expressly declined to say whether limits written into contracts and policies count. So the question moved from criminal law to ordinary contract law, where a term of use you had notice of is simply a promise you made.

  • Documented and permittedBest Buy

    The one clean example among the big chains. A documented public developer API covering products, stores and open-box buying options, free with a key, 50,000 calls a day. Two conditions constrain anyone building on it: content may be cached for no more than 72 hours, which rules out a price history, and there is a clause about use on behalf of third parties analysing Best Buy pricing that a comparison site should have a lawyer read.

  • Exists, terms unclearKroger

    A live public API exists — its product and location endpoints answer, and they require an OAuth token. If the per-store stock and price fields people describe are real, this would be the best store-level grocery source in the US. Rated amber only because Kroger's terms page timed out on every attempt, so we have not read what it permits. That is a gap in our knowledge, not a mark against Kroger.

  • Terms forbid itTarget

    Target's terms prohibit exactly this, naming prices specifically, and now define an approved-agent allowlist that does not include sites like this one. There is an undocumented internal endpoint the deals world passes around; it answers without a key, and that is not consent. We do not use it and would not suggest it.

    Make any use of data extraction, scraping, mining or other data gathering tools ... or otherwise scrape, collect, store or use any Content, account information, product listings, descriptions, prices or images
  • Terms forbid itWalmart

    Terms forbid automated retrieval, and Walmart enforces it at the door — the terms page itself serves a human-verification challenge. There is also no public product or affiliate API to use instead: the developer portal covers sellers, suppliers, carriers and advertisers only, and the old walmart.io affiliate site is now an empty shell.

    Use any robot, spider, site search/retrieval application or other manual or automatic device to retrieve, index, "scrape," "data mine" or otherwise gather any Materials
  • Terms forbid itCostco, Aldi, Wegmans, Walgreens

    All four prohibit automated collection in their own terms. Costco goes furthest, barring even viewing the underlying page code outside a browser. Aldi and Walmart have both added explicit bans on using their content to train AI models, which is new in the last year or so.

Two chains the old advice is still describingKept so people stop chasing them
  • Joann. Liquidated. All roughly 800 stores closed at the end of May 2025 and joann.com now redirects to michaels.com, which bought the brand. Any Joann clearance advice is describing a company that no longer exists.
  • Big Lots. A different company now. Variety Wholesalers bought 219 of roughly 1,400 locations out of bankruptcy and reopened them through spring 2025. Do not assume the old clearance conventions carried over.